

UT Health East Texas Neurological Institute Neuroscience Symposium 2024

April 26, 2024

This educational activity will provide information on advanced treatments and techniques in the field of neuroscience. It is designed for physicians specializing in family medicine, general practice, internal medicine, orthopedics, general surgery, vascular surgery, neurology, neurosurgery and other specialties, as well as nurses and other allied health care professionals who have an interest in current techniques in neuroscience care.

Lectures will be followed by the opportunity for questions and answers.

Continuing Education Credit

Ethics Credit

The University of Texas at Tyler Health Science Center has designated this conference for 1.0 hour of education in medical ethics and/or professional responsibility.

Continuing Medical Education

The University of Texas at Tyler Health Science Center is accredited by the Texas Medical Association to sponsor continuing medical education for physicians.

The University of Texas at Tyler Health Science Center designates this live activity for a maximum of **8.0 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™**. Participants should only claim credit commensurate with the extent of their participation in the activity. This program is also designated for 1.0 hours of medical ethics and/or professional responsibility credit.

Continuing Radiologic Technologists

Approved by the American Society of Radiologic Technologists (ASRT) for Category A continuing education credit.

Conference Location

UT Health Tyler Pavilion Conference Center 801 Clinic Drive Tyler, Texas 75701

For more information, please contact: Lisa Hutchison (903) 594-2812 Ihutchison@uthet.com

Conference Faculty

Shilpa Chitnis, MD, PhD

Professor of Medicine Department of Neurology UT Tyler School of Medicine Tyler, Texas

Paul Detwiler, MD

Neurosurgeon UT Health Tyler Tyler, Texas

Paul Kowalski, MD

Neurohospitalist UT Health Tyler Tyler, Texas

Cheryl McCullumsmith, MD, PhD

Professor & Department Chair Robert M. Rogers Department of Psychiatry UT Tyler School of Medicine Tyler, Texas

Scott Norwood, MD, FACS, FCCM

Medical Director, Trauma and Acute Care Surgery UT Health Tyler Tyler, Texas

David A. Olvera, MD

Pain Management Specialist UT Health East Texas Tyler, Texas

George Plotkin, MD, PhD

Neurologist UT Health East Texas Physicians UT Health Tyler Tyler, Texas

Gary Spiegel, MD

Vascular Interventional Radiologist Associate Professor & Director, Endovascular & Interventional Neurology Vivian L. Smith Department of Neurosurgery McGovern Medical School at UTHealth Houston Houston, Texas

Conference Schedule

FRIDAY, APRIL 26, 2024

7:30 - 8:00 a.m. Registration

8:00 – 9:00 a.m. *Acute Stroke Evaluation and Management*

Speaker: Paul Kowalski,, MD

12:15 - 1:00 p.m. Lunch

1:00 - 2:00 p.m. *Neurobiology of Suicide* Speaker: Cheryl McCullumsmith, MD, PhD

9:00 - 10:00 a.m. *Functional Neurology Disorder* Speaker: Shilpa Chitnis, MD, PhD

10:00 - 11:00 a.m. Innovations in Healthcare Speaker: Paul Detwiler, MD

11:00 - 11:15 a.m. Break

11:15 a.m. – 12:15 p.m. *Neurointerventional Radiology: Now and the Future* Speaker: Gary Spiegel, MD 2:00 - 3:00 p.m. Changing Demographics in Trauma Care: Re-defining Higher Level of Care for Traumatic Brain Injury Speaker: Scott Norwood, MD, FACS, FCCM

3:00 - 4:00 p.m. Back Pain: Treated with CDC Guidelines (Ethics credit) Speaker: David A. Olvera, MD

4:00 - 5:00 p.m. The Neurology of Long Haul COVID-19 Speaker: George Plotkin, MD

5:00 - 5:15 p.m. Questions and Answers

Registration Information

Please use the link or QR code below to register: https://uthct.cloud-cme.com/NeuroscienceSymposium24



Registration Deadline: April 25, 2024 by 3:00 p.m.

A *CloudCME* account is necessary to track participant attendance and receive CME credit.

UT HEALTH EAST TEXAS NEUROLOGICAL INSTITUTE NEUROSCIENCE SYMPOSIUM 2024

Friday, April 26, 2024

Registration: 7:30 a.m. Symposium: 8:00 a.m. – 5:15 p.m..

No charge for this conference.



Sponsored by:

